NAATI Accredited Translators

The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd (known as NAATI) is the national standards and accreditation body for translators and interpreters in Australia. NAATI’s mission, as outlined in the NAATI Constitution, is to set and maintain high national standards in translating and interpreting to enable the existence of a pool of accredited translators and interpreters responsive to the changing needs and demography of the Australian community. The core focus of the company is issuing certification for practitioners who wish to work as translators and interpreters in Australia.

Under NAATI’s current system, there are 5 different types of translation credentials. These are listed in the table below.

Credential NameLevelDescription
Advanced Translator (Senior)5This is the highest level of NAATI translating accreditation. It reflects a level of excellence in specialised translating, recognised through demonstrated extensive experience and international leadership. It encompasses and builds on the competencies of Advanced Translator accreditation.
Advanced Translator4 This represents the level of competence required to handle complex, technical and sophisticated translations in line with recognised international practice. Advanced Translators operate in diverse situations and may choose to specialise in a particular area(s) – including translating technical manuals, research papers, conferences, high-level negotiations and court proceedings.
Professional Translator3This represents the minimum level of competence for professional translating and is the minimum level recommended by NAATI for work in settings including banking, law, health, social and community services. Translators at this level work across a wide range of subjects involving documents with specialised content.
Paraprofessional Translator2 This represents a level of competence enabling the production of a translation of non-specialised information (e.g. a birth certificate). Practitioners at this level are encouraged to obtain Professional level accreditation if available.
Recognised TranslatorThis credential is an acknowledgement that at the time of the award the applicant has had recent and regular work experience as a translator, but no level of proficiency is specified. Recognised translators are encouraged to obtain accreditation as it becomes available.

Example of the kind of document needing a NAATI-certified translation:

Translations by a NAATI-certified translator are generally required by government authorities for immigration-related official documents, such as:

– Payslips

– Academic Transcripts

– Bank Statements

– Birth Certificates

– Marriage Certificates

– Death Certificates

– Driving Licences

– Divorce Certificates

– Police Checks

– Educational Qualifications

Where to find a NAATI translator? We offer NAATI translator services across Australia in most languages that are certified by Naati.  Call us or request a quote today.

Some of the languages that may be available include Arabic, Afrikaans, Albanian, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bavarian, Basque, Belarusian, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Cantonese (Chinese),  Czech (Slavic), Danish / Dansk,  Dutch / Nederlands, Farsi, Filipino, Finnish, French, Gaelic, Georgian, German / Deutsch, Greek, Guaraginga, Hebrew, Hindi, Hittite, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Khmer, Korean, Kurdish, Lao, Latvian Lithuanian (Baltic), Macedonian (Slavic), Maltese, Mandarin (Chinese), Norwegian, Pashto, Polish / Polski (Slavic), Portuguese, Punjabi,Romanian, Russian, Saami, Serbian, Sinhalese, Slovak, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Sundanese, Tagalog, Tahitian, Tajik, Tamil, Thai, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese and Yiddish.

Request a Free Quote Now

For a NAATI Accredited Translator